## TENNESSEE HOME INSPECTOR LICENSING BY <u>RECIPROCITY</u>

## 62-6-305. Application for licensure -- Prerequisites and qualifications.

Any person who applies for licensure as a home inspector must submit an application on a form prescribed by the commissioner. The application shall be accompanied by the fee specified in § 62-6-303. Applicants for licensure shall furnish evidence satisfactory to the commissioner that the applicant:

(1) Is at least eighteen (18) years of age;

(2) Has graduated from high school or earned a general education development (GED(R)) certificate;

(3) Has not been convicted of a crime that has a direct bearing on the applicant's ability to perform competently and fully as a licensee;

(4) Is \*not the subject of a disciplinary or enforcement action by another state or a local jurisdiction in connection with the performance of home inspections or the licensing or certification of home inspectors;

(5) Has \*\*successfully completed ninety (90) hours of a commissioner-approved training program or course of study involving the performance of home inspections and the preparation of home inspection reports;

(6) Has **\*\*\***passed a commissioner-approved competency examination administered by the state or an entity selected by the state; and

(7) Has obtained a certificate of insurance in an amount required by the commissioner for general liability as well as errors and omissions to cover all activities contemplated under this part.

\*A Letter of Good Standing, or other similar documentation from the state licensing agency, is required to validate that no disciplinary action history is present

\*\*Our Commissioner approved education requires 90 hours of Tennessee approved course/s as per the approved course/provider listing on the website

\*\*\*The Commissioner approved exam is the National Home Inspector Exam (NHIE) conducted by PSI. Please register using the link to their site on our website

- 1. We will accept 32 hours of Continuing Education from a Tennessee approved provider in lieu of the 90 hours, if accompanied by a current, active Home Inspector license from another State.
- 2. We can only accept the National Home Inspector examination from another State if it was taken within three years of the date of the Tennessee application else, the applicant must take and pass the NHIE for our state before applying.