Once you have completed the pre-licensing coursework and requirements you can apply for a license online at core.tn.gov. The application fee is $200.
I. Education and Experience
Satisfy one (1) of the following requirements related to education and experience:
Please review Law 62-18-109 for the five (i-v) combinations of education and experience that will be accepted.
1. "Upgrade Land Surveyor" Application (CORE)(Under, "Manage Your License Information.")
5 character references, 3 who are professional land surveyors or individuals acceptable to the board who have personal knowledge of the applicant's land surveying experience.
iii. Education (Transcript and Course Reporting Form)
A copy of a high school diploma or GED certificate; or a copy of an associate’s degree transcript along with a completed course reporting form; or a copy of a bachelor’s degree transcript along with a completed course reporting form.
iv. Completed Experience Verification Form
v. Survey Plats
Two boundary survey plats prepared by the applicant that meet Tennessee standards of practice accompanied by a property description of each survey, also written by the applicant.
vii. Firm Disclosure Form
3. Fee, $200
After the board has notified you of your approval, register online with NCEES and PSI to reserve your seat for each exam. You will not be required to pay additional exam fees when registering through the testing vendors website.
NCEES: Principles and Practices of Land Surveying (PS)
PSI: Tennessee Specifics of Land Surveying (TS)
Once passed, please email your exam results to the Board at, Land.Surveyors@TN.Gov
Once your license is issued a license certificate and wallet card will be mailed to the address provided on your application.
To order a wall certificate please mail in your request with a check or money order in the amount of, $100 to the address below:
Department of Commerce and Insurance
BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR LAND SURVEYORS
500 James Robertson Parkway
Nashville, TN 37243-1146