How to Apply - Contractor

Christine Marotteck -

In order to apply for a Contractors license, an applicant must meet the below requirements. The initial contractor application open period is 6 months. 

  • Exams:
    • Tennessee Business and Law Exam (required for all applicants)
    • Trade Exam (may be required depending on Classification Outline)
    • Note: Applicant must be pre-approved to take the plumbing exam. Pre-approval Form
    • Reciprocity:
  • Financial Statement: Contact a Certified Public Accountant (CPA or PA) to prepare a financial statement in the required format.
    • A "Review" is required for limits of $3,000,000 or less.
    • An “Audit” is required for limits exceeding $3,000,000.
  • Reference: Form in application to be completed by a past client, employer, or codes official.
  • Register with TN Secretary of State: Corporations and Limited Liability Companies (LLC) must register with the Tennessee Secretary of State. They may be contacted at (615) 741-2286 or at
  • Insurance: Provide proof of General Liability Insurance and Workers’ Compensation/Worker’s Comp Exemption. See Insurance Resource Information for Licensees.
  • Application and Fee: Complete and attach exam scores, financial statement, reference, and proof of insurance and mail them to the Board office or complete them online at
    • Handbook and Application Packet can be found here. 
    • Fee, $250.00
    • There are no more deadlines for board meetings.
    • Applications are processed in the order they are received.
    • The processing time goal is 30 days from the date of submission. However, can be longer if the application is submitted incomplete or there are any deficiencies. 
  • Hardship: To obtain an early review to rush the approval, see Hardship






Contact an agent. Submit a request